DUIs

DUIs in Florida

“DUI” stands for “driving under the influence.” You may be charged with a DUI offense if law enforcement officials believe you were operating a vehicle unsafely because you were under the influence of alcohol, prescription drugs or illegal drugs.

Potential Penalties

The penalty you may face after a DUI conviction varies based on the situation. Penalties for different levels of DUI offenses are detailed below.

First Offense

  • Maximum of 180 days in jail
  • Maximum of one year probation
  • Maximum fine of $500
  • Jail for up to 180 days
  • Maximum one year license suspension
  • DUI school
  • Community service
  • One temporarily impounded vehicle

Second Offense (at Least Five Years after First Offense)

  • Maximum of 270 days in jail
  • Maximum of one year on probation
  • Maximum fine of $1,000
  • License suspension for up to one year
  • All vehicles temporarily impounded
  • DUI school
  • Defendant must keep an Interlock Ignition Device in his or her car for one year

Second Offense (Less Than Five Years Since First Offense)

  • At least 10 days in jail; maximum of 270 days in jail
  • Maximum of one year on probation
  • Maximum fine of $1,000
  • License suspension for five years
  • All cars temporarily impounded
  • Defendant must keep an Interlock Ignition Device in his or her car for one year
  • DUI school

Third Offense (More Than 10 Years After Second Offense)

  • Maximum 364 days in jail
  • Maximum one year on probation
  • Maximum fine of $2,500
  • License suspension up to one year
  • All cars temporarily impounded
  • Defendant must keep an Interlock Ignition Device in his or her car for two years
  • DUI school

Third Offense (Less Than 10 Years Since Second Offense)

  • Maximum five years in jail
  • Maximum of five years on probation
  • Maximum fine of $5,000
  • License suspension for 10 years
  • Defendant must keep an Interlock Ignition Device in his or her car for two years
  • All cars temporarily impounded
  • DUI school

Fourth Offense

  • Maximum five years in jail
  • Maximum of five years on probation
  • Maximum fine of $5,000
  • Permanent loss of license
  • All cars temporarily impounded

For any offense, worsened penalties may apply if the charge is DUI with injury, DUI with serious bodily injury or DUI manslaughter. You may also face more severe penalties if a minor was in the car or if your blood alcohol level was especially high.

IMPORTANT! YOU ONLY HAVE TEN (10) DAYS FROM THE DATE OF YOUR ARREST TO APPLY FOR A HARDSHIP LICENSE UNDER THE NEW LAW THAT WENT INTO EFFECT JULY 1ST, 2013.

Boating Under the Influence

You may also face penalties if you are charged with boating under the influence (BUI). Penalties are as follows:

A BUI conviction may result in varied criminal penalties, including:

  • First Offense: Maximum six months in jail and/or maximum $500 fine
  • Second Offense: Maximum 12 months in jail and/or maximum $1,000 fine
  • Third Offense (within 10 years): Maximum five years in prison and maximum $5,000 fine

Hire Lawyer

If you are facing alcohol-related charges in Florida, you need a qualified Florida DUI Lawyer. Fortunately, the Law Office of Colleen M Glenn, P.A. can help. If you have been arrested for DUI or any other alcohol related offense, please contact us at 941-746-8800.

Ratings and Reviews