Dedicated. Aggressive. Determined.
  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  » Misdemeanors

Strong Defense Against Misdemeanors In Florida

Last updated on July 9, 2021

When facing any criminal charges, there is a lot at stake. While most people consider misdemeanors to be less serious than felonies – and, in most cases, they are – this does not mean you should take your defense against these charges lightly or try to handle your case on your own. You need the help of an experienced, dedicated criminal defense team on your side.

At The Law Office of Colleen M. Glenn, P.A., we stand behind our clients and provide exceptional service. Our lawyers understand the challenges of defending against criminal charges. We serve clients in Bradenton and the surrounding Florida areas.

What Is A Misdemeanor?

A misdemeanor is a crime handled in a county court system, and those who are convicted of this type of crime may face time in a county jail for up to a year and could be charged fines of $1,000 or more, depending on the situation.

In Florida, misdemeanors are classified as either first-degree or second-degree offenses. First-degree violations are considered more serious and normally come with greater punishment or retribution. Persons convicted of a second-degree misdemeanor in Florida may be sentenced to up to 60 days in county jail and may be asked to pay a fine of up to $500.

With first-degree offenses, county jail time can stretch to up to a year and fines can reach $1,000. There are many different violations that can result in misdemeanor charges. First-degree offenses include:

  • Simple battery
  • Criminal mischief
  • Bad checks valued under $150
  • Domestic violence
  • DUI
  • Knowingly driving with a suspended license, or a second offense
  • Indecent exposure
  • Loitering
  • Marijuana possession of under 20 grams
  • Reckless driving
  • Shoplifting up to $300
  • Solicitation for or engaging in prostitution
  • Vandalism
  • Trespassing
  • Resisting arrest without violence
  • Petty theft, repeat offense

Some examples of less serious second-degree offenses are

  • Simple assault
  • Criminal mischief with damage under $200
  • First offense driving on a suspended license
  • Disorderly conduct
  • Disorderly intoxication
  • Harassing phone calls
  • No motorcycle endorsement
  • Attaching unassigned or expired tags
  • Petty theft, first offense

The Burden Of Proof

No matter what the seriousness of the crime, the burden of proof lies with the prosecution, whose job is to prove a suspect’s guilt beyond a reasonable doubt and give the suspect an opportunity to have their case heard before a jury. But going to court isn’t always a good idea. Often, negotiating a settlement with the help of a Florida misdemeanor lawyer at The Law Office of Colleen M. Glenn, P.A., and reaching a compromise is a better course of action. We’ve handled several misdemeanor cases, helping clients overcome their misfortunes and move on to better lives.

Dedicated To A Fair Criminal Defense

The Law Office of Colleen M. Glenn, P.A., serving Manatee, Sarasota and Pinellas counties, was first established in 2006, but criminal defense was attorney Colleen M. Glenn’s focus even before she opened her firm. She received a bachelor’s degree in criminology before law school, and criminal defense has been her primary focus since she was admitted to The Florida Bar in 2003.

The firm’s cases are solely related to criminal defense, and the atmosphere is casual and approachable yet professional. We offer flexible meeting arrangements and payment options to all clients because no one should have to compromise on their defense or be forced to work with an attorney who doesn’t care about their well-being.

Ms. Glenn is well-respected in the community, and, in addition to helping clients, she also regularly assists the faculty at Stetson University College of Law with trial competitions and related projects.

When you’re charged with a misdemeanor, the sooner you can resolve the situation and move on, the better. In any misdemeanor arrest, the state has 90 days to file formal charges. By contacting The Law Office of Colleen M. Glenn, P.A., as soon as possible, you increase your chances of obtaining a speedy trial, an opportunity that expires after 90 days.

Contact Our Firm For A Free Consultation

If you have been arrested for any of the above-listed misdemeanors or any other misdemeanor not mentioned here, please feel free to contact us at 941-746-8800 or by email.